• Welcome to N-cars.net - the largest Hyundai N car forum. Check out the model specific sections below and scroll down for country specific forums. Scroll down for i20 N, Kona N and Tuscon N forums! Check out the i30 N Bible Here!

Preparing for a trackday

EssEll

Nthusiast
Nov 12, 2018
Hertfordshire
Hi all, can I first admit my lack of knowledge!! Never done a trackday before, and owned amazingly slow cars before the i30 N (Kia Rio 1.25 was the next fastest car!), so no real experience to speak of with when to change brake pads etc on a performance car.

I have my first trackday booked for end of Jan at Bedford autodrome (insurance sorted too with Moris).

The car has done 6300 miles.

What practically have you done to prepare the car for your trackday? Eg how did you check your brake pads? Did a garage do it? How much was it... Which other fluids did you check? Oh yes... I am a noob haha!

All advice greatly appreciated - thank you!

Steve

Reactions: GazmaN and AFRocks
Check the oil, let a little air out the tyres if your doing lots of laps.

Build up the speed slowly. It’s not race, it’s not free to repair it.

Build confidence in your and the cars abilities.

I insure it for a track day, you pay for damage to your car however and whoever caused it. I use Morris too.

Tyres won’t take an absolute kicking unless your a psycho!

If it’s gets busy on track, pit and go back out.

Enjoy it, dont race anyone, do your own thing.

My first sighting laps at Rockingham I thought I cannot do this its too fast, by the end of the day I was going waaaaaay faster.

That's awesome advice, thank you!

I'm looking forward to it a lot. Great tips - appreciated!

Steve

Check the oil, let a little air out the tyres if your doing lots of laps.

Build up the speed slowly. It’s not race, it’s not free to repair it.

Build confidence in your and the cars abilities.

I insure it for a track day, you pay for damage to your car however and whoever caused it. I use Morris too.